Introduction to Detailing

The place for everything non E21. Now with dedicated E12 & E30 sections
Eddie.
E21 Fanatic
My E21(s): [O==[][]==O]

Introduction to Detailing

Post by Eddie. »

I was asked the other day to give a little bit of a guide to detailing.

First off, I'm no expert. I'm an avid home detailer, but no more than that :)

I'm going to give a bit of a brief insight to a normal detail for me, so normally this wouldn't include any paint correction stages, although I will give a quick run through of that. A lot of the photos are from details on my old RS Clio.

A "detail" is nothing more than an in depth clean, in all honesty, but it has some very basic stages that should be adhered to:

Decontamination
Correction
Protection

These stages can be further broken down, which you will see below:

Decontamination

First up, the car needs to be rinsed with a hose. Generally avoid jetwashing at this stage, as this can drive dirt into the clearcoat.

Once this is done, it's time to get the general grime off the car. To do this I usually use the 2BM or "2 bucket method". This is essentially what it says on the tin, you use one bucket for shampoo (my choice of shampoo is Zaino Show Car Wash), then when you have cleaned a panel, you use a second bucket, which has just water in it, to rinse the wash mitt. This means the dirt removed from the car, goes into the rinse bucket and not into the shampoo, where it will simply be picked up and transferred back onto the paint. I use a "washmitt" to clean the car, as a sponge can cause unwanted 'marring' or 'swirling' (thousands of tiny, scratches a few microns deep). Good technique is key; wash in straight lines (never circular motions) and one panel at a time.

Zaino Z7 Show Car Wash: